Pep Rally! Backward

http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Bury_your_head_in_the_sand.jpg
http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Bury_your_head_in_the_sand.jpg

 

I follow a great blog about finances written by a good friend of mine who is a young, up-and-coming financial whizz who’s passionate about financial literacy. It’s called Decoding Your Dollars (if the link doesn’t work, here is the address: http://decodingyourdollars.wordpress.com/) . And also on Facebook: www.facebook.com/decodingyourdollars).

Vanessa, in her post last week (click here to be taken to it ), talked about looking at your finances from a little different angle, perhaps even backward.

The word “backward” got me thinking….

When challenges and obstacles come along, our natural tendency is to pull back, hunker down for the long haul, and hide or run away. But what if we think of that backward? Instead of cutting back, hiding, or running away, what if instead we stand tall, walk purposefully toward it, and look for ways to expand in spite of the situation….

Instead of stepping back and giving ground to the problem, what if we draw a deep, thick line then square our shoulders and say “Nevermore. Nevermore will you push me around.”

http://www.publicdomainpictures.net/view-image.php?image=63984&picture=atlantes-head-and-torso
http://www.publicdomainpictures.net/view-image.php?image=63984&picture=atlantes-head-and-torso

Your homework today is to take the opposite—the backward—approach to your challenges, obstacles, and setbacks.

Here are Pep Phrases for you:

I am stronger than this issue;

I’m bigger and better than this situation;

I can do this, I know I can;

Yes I can!

I have the intelligence, creativity, and insight needed to solve this problem;

I am the right size, the right shape, the right age, the right look; I am the right type of right that’s needed for me to achieve my dreams.

The S till Small Voice is right about me: I have what it takes, I’ve been chosen, approved, and anointed to achieve my dreams;

I can do it!

Yes I can!

You can do this, I am positively sure you can! I believe in you!

I’m proud of you!

Your Friend and Pep Pal,

Lauren

PS:  Remember to stand in front of your mirror with a big smile as you repeat the Pep Phrases to yourself.  And have your favorites handy so you can refer to them throughout the day.

Leave a Reply

