Golden Wisdom: Life is More than a Series of Problems

Copyright 2014 Artisans Workshop Designs
Copyright 2014 Artisans Workshop Designs

 

I’m fortunate to still have both of my parents and to live close enough so I can drive to visit them for the day.

This past weekend I spent the day with them. Of course we caught up on what each of us has been up to, but my parents were particularly interested in how I was coming along with a few challenges I’m currently working through. After telling them of the progress, including my concerns about the parts that are being stubborn and sticky, my parents said something that was profound.

My parents reminded me that although working through the difficulties requires much of my concentration and time, not all parts of my life are challenging. They encouraged me to give some attention to the things I enjoy doing, projects that are going well, and the exciting and interesting things I have planned for later on in the month and year.

What a concept!

If you’re like me, sometimes I get so focused on the obstacles I’m dealing with that I can’t see any other part of my life. And if the problem is particularly stubborn, I start thinking that all of my life is a problem!

But this isn’t true!

While I have my share of struggles, my parents are right and things are going well in some areas of my life. Here’s a sampling:  close and rewarding relationships with family and friends (so glad my parents are still alive and that I live reasonably close to them!); several times each week I enjoy taking photos and sharing them with my family and friends; I’ve devised a program of self-study that’s helping me increase my knowledge and improve my skills.

http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Matthias_stom_young_man_reading_by_candlelight.jpg
http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Matthias_stom_young_man_reading_by_candlelight.jpg

How about you—what are the good things going on in your life? In fact, your homework today is to make a list for yourself of the projects that are going well, the activities you enjoy doing each week, and the areas of your life where the future looks bright.

Keep this list handy and refer to it often, especially when you go through a phase of feeling frustrated, discouraged, or overwhelmed by the obstacles in your life. It’ll help you put things into perspective and remind you that you do have at least a few things that are going well for you.

You can do it! I believe in you!

I’m proud of you!

Your Friend and Pep Pal,

Lauren

One thought on “Golden Wisdom: Life is More than a Series of Problems”

Leave a Reply

