What I’ve Learned: Clean Up as You Go

http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Teddys-on-line.JPG
http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Teddys-on-line.JPG

 

As my family and I work through the crisis that we find ourselves in the midst of, I’ve found cleaning up as I go to be incredibly helpful.

Our situation is chaotic, can change in a split second, and there are many things to keep track of.

When I gave simple tasks a lick and a promise and thought I’d come back to them later, I found that I never did go back to them. Then the next simple task came along and needed doing and I gave that a lick and a promise, telling myself there were more important things to deal with. Before I knew it, the simple tasks piled up and required a chunk of time to sort out and finish. Had I dealt with them when they first needed doing, it would have taken only a few minutes.

On top of that, the simple tasks not getting done and piling up added to the chaos and increased the stress levels. Once I did the tasks in a timely manner, I created a little bit of serenity within the chaos. 

Lesson learned!

http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Lighthouse_keeper_cleaning_lens_at_the_Pensacola_Lighthouse_(14000944697).jpg
http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Lighthouse_keeper_cleaning_lens_at_the_Pensacola_Lighthouse_(14000944697).jpg

Your homework today is to look at the simple tasks—the ones you give a lick and a promise to. Take the extra moment or two and fully complete them so you can totally cross them off your To Do list.

Yay you!

You can do it, I know you can!

I’m so proud of you!

Your Friend and Pep Pal,

Lauren

Leave a Reply

