Being Realistic

Copyright 2015 Artisans Workshop Designs
Copyright 2015 Artisans Workshop Designs

 

Realistic does not mean pessimistic. ~Josh S.

 

I was talking with a good friend of mine telling him about the projects I’m working on. As I was telling him about my “perfect world” dreams for the projects but then said that I needed to be realistic, he stopped me in my tracks with telling me that realistic does not mean pessimistic.

=O !!!

I’d never considered that possibility!

When I thought more about it, I realized I had been equating the word ‘realistic’ with meaning that I’d have to tone down my dreams because they were too big or beyond my capabilities or something I wasn’t “allowed” to have.

But none of this is true!

What I my friend was implying was that a better way to think about what realistic means is that it’s telling us to break dreams into steps and to break those into little parts and small pieces.

What a concept!! 😀

Copyright 2015 Artisans Workshop Designs
Copyright 2015 Artisans Workshop Designs

Your homework today is to get realistic about your most cherished dreams—the ones on the back burner because you think they’re out of your reach, for whatever reason.

Put those dreams on the front burner and turn up the heat! 

Break the dreams into steps—list the things you’ll need to do in order to reach those dreams. Then break those steps into small pieces and little parts. Break those into tinier and tinier bits until you get to the smidgens and specks that are just the right size for you. Then do those smidgens and specks!

You can do it!

I’m so proud of you!

Your Friend and Pep Pal,

Lauren

Leave a Reply

