Wisdom from the Farm: Green Beans and Opportunities

Copyright 2015 Artisans Workshop Designs
Copyright 2015 Artisans Workshop Designs

 

Today we’re taking a break from George Washington…do I hear a sigh of relief?  😉

Yesterday I was at the Farm picking up my CSA share for the week.  This week is the first of the bean crop.  When I walked to the rows of beans, all I saw was one long row after another of green-leafed bushes.  It didn’t seem to me that the beans were ready because I didn’t see any on the bushes.  I figured I’d have to go down a couple of rows in order to pick my allotment.  But when I moved aside the leaves of the first bean plant I saw it was loaded with perfectly mature beans.  I was able to gather my share from only a few of the plants.

This got me to thinking….

When we hit a rough patch, we’ve all heard the old adages that setbacks are really set-ups to something better; to look for the silver lining; that opportunity often comes to us in working clothes.

How many times, though, do we look at the “long row we have to hoe” and become discouraged?  And, how many times do we allow discouragement to make us give up before we even start?

 

We need to do something different because discouragement and giving up won’t get us to our dreams!

 

WEB-Beans-on-the-Plants-1
Copyright 2015 Artisans Workshop Designs

We need to step into that row and look closer at what’s there.  Move aside the “leaves” and see the “mature beans” of opportunity that are hidden there.

Yes we have to roll up our sleeves when faced with a challenge, and yes we’ll have to work our way through it.  But if we keep our eyes open we’ll see that our skills and talents are been further developed and honed; we’ll gain experience and knowledge and feel more self-reliant which will then boost our self-confidence and self-esteem.

 

Copyright 2015 Artisans Workshop Designs
Copyright 2015 Artisans Workshop Designs

And all of this will give us the instincts, intelligence, and abilities to spot and take advantage of the opportunities that await us.

WooHoo!

 

 

Copyright 2015 Artisans Workshop Designs
Copyright 2015 Artisans Workshop Designs

Your homework today is to grab your hoe and jump into the row.  Start hoeing with the knowledge and expectation that you are becoming stronger and more empowered and that you’re going to come across an opportunity that will make all the difference in your quest to achieve your dreams!

Remember that you don’t have to hoe that row all at once!  You can break it into sections then break those into chunks and then into pieces.  Even if you have to break it down into looking under one leaf at a time, that’s okay.  It’s still progress and that’s the important thing.  You’re taking action and keeping at it.  That’s what counts!

You can do this, I’m sure of it!

I’m so proud of you!

Your Friend and Pep Pal,

Lauren

Leave a Reply

