Wisdom from the Farm: The Tomato Patch: Pay Attention to Information from Experts

Copyright 2015 Artisans Workshop Designs
Copyright 2015 Artisans Workshop Designs

 

Yesterday I was at the farm picking up my weekly share of garden fresh vegetables. For the pick-your-own portion, the farmers will often leave instruction signs in the fields telling shareholders where the best picking is.  The tomato patches are one of the areas.

I overheard a child reading the sign to his mother and I was amazed that the mother insisted on staying near the beginning of the patch. When she mentioned that there were few ripe tomatoes, her son reminded her of the sign.  But then she declared that “the sign must have been leftover from another week because, obviously, the tomatoes were done for the season. ”  All they had to do was walk just a few feet down the row–not far at all from where they had been standing–and they would have easily filled their pint for the week!

Instead, because the mother thought she knew better than the experts–the farmers–the family left without getting their share of tomatoes.

Jiminy!

This got me to thinking….
…about all the times I’ve disregarded information from the experts–suggestions that could have saved me countless hours of effort!  I didn’t take the time to think it through, to discover how to apply the information to my situation.

 

Copyright 2015 Artisans Workshop Designs
Copyright 2015 Artisans Workshop Designs

Your homework today is to take a moment to think through the information you get from others who have traveled the road before you. Perhaps not all of their advice applies, for instance your circumstances may be different or new knowledge or technology has come along since they traveled where you are now. Even so, there are nuggets of gold in there for you so don’t dismiss the message right away!

Think it through. Take in the information, but then run it through your evaluation filters. Ask yourself questions such as: Does this apply to my situation; can I adapt this to my particular circumstances; does this information spark a better idea that’s just right for me?

Listen, evaluate, then act!

You can do it, I know you can!

I’m so proud of you!

Your Friend and Pep Pal,

Lauren

Leave a Reply

