Difficulty = Chance to Make Things Better

http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Wroclaw_krasnal_Syzyfek.jpg
http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Wroclaw_krasnal_Syzyfek.jpg

Problems, set-backs, difficulties, rough patches…they all describe the state of things when they are not going the way you want them to or the way you thought they would.

When we run into a problem we describe it as something that’s throwing us off track or putting us behind schedule. We think that it’s stopping, blocking, or in some way preventing us from moving forward. To anyone who’ll listen, we say that it’s tough to deal with, something that just isn’t any fun at all. When difficulties come, often we’re upset when this happens.

When faced with a difficulty, we may get frustrated or angry, or we may become anxious and worried. Sometimes we become overwhelmed and confused.

Eventually we resign ourselves to the difficulty. We console ourselves by saying that these bumps and jostles are things we have to suffer with on our pathway, as if they are the price we have to pay to achieve our dreams.

But it doesn’t have to be this way.

Instead, think of problems and difficulties as a chance to make things better.

Difficulties are a chance to pause, take a deep breath, and clear your mind. They’re a chance to evaluate if you really want the dream you’re pursuing, or if it’s a particular aspect of it that makes your heart sing. They’re an opportunity to take a look at yourself and strengthen skills, knowledge, and self-belief

Difficulties are a chance to take a larger view of yourself, your dream, and the path you’re on.

http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Sunset_Hopping.jpg
http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Sunset_Hopping.jpg

Your homework today is to embrace your difficulties! Even though your life is jam-packed full of responsibilities and obligations, choose a place and a time when you can think undisturbed for 20 minutes.

Ask yourself these questions:

Do I really want this dream, or is there some aspect of it–or something totally different–that makes my heart sing?

Am I doing what I was born to do?

What can I improve: Do I need to sharpen my skills? Do I need more education? Do I need to delegate or, better yet, learn to say “NO!”

How’s my belief in myself that, no matter what and as long as I keep taking action, I will figure it out?

How’s my faith that Magic and Miracles do exist and they can–and will–happen for me?

So, embrace difficulties. They’re a chance to think deeper and wider about your dreams–a chance to innovate, come up with something fresh and new, and totally grounded in your heart and soul!

You can do this, I know you can!

I’m proud of you!

Your Friend and Pep Pal,

Lauren

Leave a Reply

