What I’ve Learned About Silence

Copyright 2014 Artisans Workshop Designs
Copyright 2014 Artisans Workshop Designs

Today is Patriot’s Day (in the US) and it’s a perfect time for silence. It’s a way to honor the memories of loved ones and of the heroes we’ll never meet. It brings us closer together as citizens of the world. And it puts us in touch with ourselves. It’s through connecting with our true selves that we remember what we were born to do. By following through with being our authentic selves, we truly honor the memory of those who have gone before.

Recently, I’ve begun my own practice of daily silence by stopping my TV service. I start and end my day with sitting quietly and listening to the sounds around me. This practice of silence has been an interesting experience. Here are a few things I’ve discovered so far:

Silence isn’t scary at all.

Nature sounds, which are much easier to hear in silence, are soothing. Even the sounds of traffic have their own calming rhythm to them…without blaring horns or screaming sirens, of course!

It’s safe.

In fact, nothing exploded or imploded because there were no electronics on and there were no other sounds other than the ambient ones.

Breathing room.

The air doesn’t seem as cluttered so it’s easier to take a full breath–several in a row, even!

Elbow room.

I’m not as tense. My muscles are softening (in a good way!) because I don’t feel the need to be en garde all the time. Now I can move in more natural ways. And there’s room in my mind for good, positive thoughts to hang out.

Space.

Freedom to think, to wonder, and to just be.

Let go.

It seems that not as many things are tugging and prodding me, screaming for my attention. I’m not scurrying and dashing to and fro as much. I can actually let go, relax, and find my own rhythm and pace for getting things done.

The sages were right: Silence is golden!

http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Fulmar_(detail)._-_geograph.org.uk_-_1365440.jpg
http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Fulmar_(detail)._-_geograph.org.uk_-_1365440.jpg

Your homework today as you review your week is to look for ways to bring more silence into your daily living. Perhaps on your drive to work, instead of playing the radio or listening to a book on tape, give yourself the gift of quiet. If you think about it, you can come up with other ideas to incorporate silence into your day.

In your review, remember to note the progress you’ve made this week. It doesn’t matter how small the forward movement was; the point is, you did it! You’ve made progress!

Make sure you celebrate this–perhaps with a half hour of silence in Nature, letting its comforting sounds seep into you and infuse you with peace and well-being.

You can do it!

I’m so proud of you!

Your Friend and Pep Pal,

Lauren

 

Leave a Reply

