Wisdom from the Farm: Surprises

Copyright 2015 Artisans Workshop Designs
Copyright 2015 Artisans Workshop Designs

I met a friend of mine for coffee this morning and as we were chatting about what each of us has been doing, she said, “But you have to leave room in your day for surprises.” She then told me that she and her husband were in New York City this past weekend and a hawk swooped low over their heads. She said it was surprising, for sure, but wonderful at the same time.

A little while later, I was picking up my farm shares–the last ones of the season. As I was in the field, I was thinking of what she said about the little surprises here and there throughout each day.

We’d had a hard frost over the weekend and the farmer had told us that there wasn’t much in the fields–a few herbs and that was it. I walked over to the flowers anyway because you never know….

When I got there, I saw only brown stalks mixed in with some green plants, but no flowers. As I turned to leave, a bit of color caught my eye. When I looked closer, to my surprise, I saw a few delicate blue flowers, a little bit of red Cockscomb, and a few stems of Snapdragons. To my delight, I was able to gather a small bouquet!

Copyright 2015 Artisans Workshop Designs
Copyright 2015 Artisans Workshop Designs

Your homework today is to leave room in your busy schedule for surprises. It isn’t always about striving, producing, achieving; it’s also about being. Keep your eyes peeled and your awareness alert for unexpected moments of delight, happiness, and wonder.

You can do it!

I’m so proud of you!

Your Friend and Pep Pal,

Lauren

Leave a Reply

