When Things Go Wrong

http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Rozbit%C3%A9_j%C3%ADzdn%C3%AD_kolo_na_b%C5%99ehu_Daugavy.jpg
http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Rozbit%C3%A9_j%C3%ADzdn%C3%AD_kolo_na_b%C5%99ehu_Daugavy.jpg

 

 

Have you ever had one of those days when it seems as if your life is crumbling around you–everywhere you turn there’s a problem, issue, challenge, obstacle = a big pile of steaming, smelly sh+t?

Yeah. Me, too.

In fact, today was one of those days (actually, it’s been going on all week but today was the Extra Big Kick in the Pants): An unexpected bill with a tightly knotted mix-up that needs to be straightened out, dealing with a heartless bureaucracy that just doesn’t care, a major client of mine deciding to do work in-house rather than out-source it to me, and glitches in the name change for this blog.

Oy.

http://www.publicdomainpictures.net/view-image.php?image=9652&picture=crying
http://www.publicdomainpictures.net/view-image.php?image=9652&picture=crying

What I really want to do:

~Cry, wail, and make it all go away;

~Give up, quit, throw in the towel;

~Run away, hide, go to bed and pull the covers over my head;

~Find my fairy godmother and have her wave her magic wand over my life;

~Volunteer to (wo)man the first space flight to Mars as long as NASA agrees to shoot off the rocket tomorrow (no email, no phones, no texting, no apps, no computers…sounds like heaven to me!);

~Turn back the clock so I can lean on Mom and Dad.

http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Madonna_of_Sacrifice_NGM-v31-p551.jpg
http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Madonna_of_Sacrifice_NGM-v31-p551.jpg

What I’ve actually done so far:

~Called my dearest friend and–literally–cried on her shoulder for a while. Although she didn’t have a magic wand (drat!), her calmness and strength gave me the reprieve I needed. For the time we were talking, I didn’t have to be strong or brave, I didn’t have to come up with all the answers. She gave me a safe and secure space in which to let it all out–all the frustration, fears, and general ickyness. She gently reminded me of the ideas I’ve shared with her that she thinks are great. She helped me realize that I do have options and, as Mom and Dad always said, as long as I have options, I can work myself out of whatever fix I’m in.

~Emailed a business colleague who I’ve collaborated with in the past and let him know my schedule is opening up. I told him that if he or anyone he knows has projects they need help with, then I’m your gal!

~Fantasized about where I would run off to and decided it would be fun to tour all of the national parks in the USA, especially in one of those trains that is designed for such a trip with those glass observation cars;

~Scrapped the blog I was going to write and wrote this one instead;

~Put together a big, fat packet for the heartless bureaucracy.

 

 http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Sweet-dreams-dreaming-of-snow-white-and-the-seven-dwarves.jpg

http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Sweet-dreams-dreaming-of-snow-white-and-the-seven-dwarves.jpg

What’s next on my To Do list:

~Get a good night’s sleep, as advised by my friend;

~Have a glass of wine so that I relax enough to sleep restfully;

~As I fall asleep, listen to Joe Dispenza’s Evening Meditation CD and meditate on why lately for every step I take forward, I take at least 3/4 step backward. What’s going on?  What am I doing or not doing that I need to stop or change? I’m going to sent thatout there to Whomever Is Listening and ask them to be very clear, and GENTLE (!!), with their answer so I easily get it and can do something about it!

Then I’m going to sleep well and wake refreshed, revitalized, rarin’ to go, with new ideas and a new direction.

At least, that’s what I’m hoping for. I’ll let you know how it turns out.

Good night; sweet dreams!

Your Friend and Pep Pal,

Lauren

PS  Thanks for listening!

One thought on “When Things Go Wrong”

Leave a Reply

