When Bad Days Strike

http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Mr_Pipo_Think_03.svg
http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Mr_Pipo_Think_03.svg

The most important thing to do when bad days strike is to keep control of your mind.

Do NOT let negative, worrying, angry, or demoralized thinking move in and set up camp.

It’s natural to have these types of thoughts pop into your mind, but don’t let them stay!

Talk to yourself with positive and hopeful words and phrases. Stand in front of the mirror as you do this. Smile and be upbeat.

Say things like:

https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Mr_Pipo_WIN.svg
https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Mr_Pipo_WIN.svg

I can do this. I can take things one step at a time and work my way through this. I know I can! I may not have all the answers right now but I have answers enough to take the next step. I know that as I keep moving forward and doing everything I can each day, the answers will come to me as I need them.

Another thing to say to yourself in front of the mirror is:

Nothing lasts forever and this, too, shall pass. This is just temporary. I can hurry it along by taking the next logical step and the next one after that. As I keep doing this, soon I’ll see brighter days.

It may seem silly to talk to yourself like this but it’s vitally important that you do. It’s important that you stop those negative thoughts and turn them to something more helpful–and to do it as quickly as possible.

Give it a try and let me know in the comments section how it worked out for you.

I’m proud of you!

Your Friend and Pep Pal,

Lauren

 

3 thoughts on “When Bad Days Strike”

  1. Thanks, Lauren. That’s terrific advice! In the middle of a day going badly, I pause, and imagine pressing My Attitude Reboot button, thus beginning my day yet again. Just because a few things went wrong doesn’t mean the whole day will continue that way. I remind myself that I have the power to change my attitude one day, one hour or one minute at a time. Repeat as needed.

    Like

    1. Hi David!
      Thanks for your suggestions.
      You are sooooooo right that at any moment and in spite of what’s happening around us, we CAN press the reset button. We don’t have to wait for things to ease up or for better days to arrive. We can–and we MUST–press the reset button on our thoughts and attitudes. And you are sooooo right when you say “Repeat as needed”. I’ve found that there are days when I have to press the reset button many times! 🙂 But it’s worth it. As you pointed out, it’s essential to do this because the whole day doesn’t have to continue to be wrong or bad. It’s in pressing the reset button as often as we need to that we help ourselves have a good day.
      Thank you so much for your insights, David!
      Your Friend and Pep Pal,
      Lauren
      PS Stay tuned to this blog because I’m planning additional posts on the topic of paying attention to thoughts and attitudes! Thanks again for your comments and thanks for reading this blog!

      Like

Leave a Reply

