Goals and Grit: The “Last Resort” Word

http://www.publicdomainpictures.net/view-image.php?image=33839&picture=the-railroad-goes-into-the-distance
http://www.publicdomainpictures.net/view-image.php?image=33839&picture=the-railroad-goes-into-the-distance

We all know to use pep words and power phrases when we need a boost to keep going or we need to uplift our spirits.

Will they work, though, when it seems that all hope is lost?

Yes they will.

When I’m in a situation where I can’t hold on, not even for one nanosecond longer; when the only course of action seems like I should throw in the towel; when logic is telling me to quit; when those who love me are begging you to stop because they can’t stand to see me in such pain….

But I’ve decided that this IS worth fighting for so giving up is NOT an option.

When I’m beaten up, covered in mud, and I’m bloody; when I don’t feel even one iota of a bit of strength; when I don’t think I have it in me to hold on one second longer much less move forward; this is when I pull out my last resort go-to word.

My last resort go-to word is

https://pixabay.com/en/race-aircraft-sky-clouds-92193/
https://pixabay.com/en/race-aircraft-sky-clouds-92193/

YES.

I say it over and over until it becomes rhythmic and the word itself disappears. I use the short cadence of it to breath in and out to; and I use the in-out beat of the breathing and the word to help me hold on just a fraction of a nanosecond longer and to creep forward a micron. And then to do it again with the next in-out beat. And then again.

Are these times grueling? You bet.

Has it worked? You bet!

Do you have a last resort go-to word or phrase? Please share it in the comments below. If you don’t you’re welcome to use mine and, in the comments below, let me know how it works for you!

Please pass this post along to a friend–thanks!

Your Friend and Pep Pal,

Lauren

One thought on “Goals and Grit: The “Last Resort” Word”

Leave a Reply

