Leap of Faith: Take It

http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Freefly_(Manaus-Brasil)_3.JPG
http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Freefly_(Manaus-Brasil)_3.JPG

 

Last night I watched a Christmas movie. What, you mean you don’t have Christmas in July?  😉

It was a Hallmark movie about a minister, in the midst of a crisis in faith, who came to a small village in England, and the miraculous events that ensue. The movie is called The Christmas Candle, and here’s the link:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TiISAjFwUyA

One minor character said and did something that was noteworthy and relevant to this blog. She was unmarried and, since it was the early 20th Century in England, she desperately wanted a husband.

Note: Small Spoiler Alert!

Because of an event, she thought that the unmarried minister might be The One, so she gave him a home-baked pie. He was very polite, professional, and gentle in not returning her affections (he’s the hero of the story, after all!).  Due to another event, she meets a man that turns out to be her future husband.

She summed up the whole experience by saying that she knew what she wanted and she thought she’d found it so she took a leap of faith. She went on to say that it turned out to be in the wrong direction but her course was set right and she did end up meeting her future husband.

This got me to thinking….

I don’t know about you, but sometimes, when I’ve been faced with having to take a leap of faith, I’ve hesitated. I’ve tried to think it through and evaluate the pros and cons.  I’ve tried to look down the road and anticipate the outcome of taking the leap of faith as well as not taking it.  Sometimes, I’ve decided not to take the leap of faith because it seemed to iffy, like too big of a chance.

Have you ever done that?

http://www.publicdomainpictures.net/view-image.php?image=107290&picture=skydiver
http://www.publicdomainpictures.net/view-image.php?image=107290&picture=skydiver

In hearing what the character said in the movie, I’ve also realized that when I have taken the leap of faith, things manage to work out. I may not get what I originally thought I would, but what I do receive deepens and enriches my life in a way I hadn’t anticipated.

So, next time you’re faced with a leap of faith, take it! And, enjoy the adventure!

Please share this post with a friend–thanks!

Your Friend and Pep Pal,

Lauren

 

Leave a Reply

