Silent Retreat: Other People’s Word

https://pixabay.com/en/candle-christmas-star-advent-1428451/
https://pixabay.com/en/candle-christmas-star-advent-1428451/

 

Last week I shared with you that I’ve started a new morning practice of sitting in stillness for 15 – 20 minutes before I meditate. During this time today I had an interesting thought that I want to share with you.

As I was finishing my stillness, the thought came to me that I don’t have to take other people’s word for it.

I don’t have to take their word for it when someone says that I’m not good enough or I’m all washed up. I don’t have to take their word for it!

How do they know, anyway? What makes them the expert on me?

They’re not considering the fact that I can decide to practice and hone my skills or I can go back to school and learn new skills and gain more knowledge. I can find someone to mentor me and improve myself that way.  Or I can devise a program where I carefully observe, read about, and study other people who are more successful than I am, and then apply what I’ve discovered.

https://pixabay.com/en/woman-power-lady-force-muscle-36446/
https://pixabay.com/en/woman-power-lady-force-muscle-36446/

Other people don’t know me like I know me. I have the capacity to choose–I can always decide–to do something to improve myself and my lot in life.  People who are dismissive of me aren’t taking into account my ability to change.

So, I don’t have to take other people’s word for it regarding who I am and what my chances of success are!

WooHoo!

I can listen to myself–tune into what I know to be true about me.  Plus that, my word about me carries more weight with me than other people’s word!

What a relief to know that none of us has to take anyone else’s word for it about ourselves!

Your Friend and Pep Pal,

Lauren

Leave a Reply

