Silent Retreat: Why?

http://www.publicdomainpictures.net/view-image.php?image=89676&picture=lone-surf-fisherman
http://www.publicdomainpictures.net/view-image.php?image=89676&picture=lone-surf-fisherman

 

I started my practice of stillness and silence first thing in the morning because I was feeling frazzled and disjointed. I had ideas I wanted to try out but I couldn’t seem to find the time.  On the rare occasions that I did carve out a few moments, I found it difficult to focus because my mind was jumping here and there–a million and one other things were vying for my attention.  I’d hoped with stillness and silence I could train my mind to slow down and pay attention–to learn to be more relaxed and more willing to trust in the flow.

Looking back over the short while that I’ve been doing this–about two weeks now–I can see some slight improvements in my focus. More rewarding, though, are the insights I’ve received and a few, small answers that are clicking into place.  It’s because of these that I keep talking about the mini Silent Retreats and encouraging you to incorporate this into your daily practice.

https://pixabay.com/en/bubbles-colors-life-852534/
https://pixabay.com/en/bubbles-colors-life-852534/

It doesn’t have to be silence and stillness. Julia Cameron, author of The Artist’s Way, swears by Morning Pages.  Great thinkers and mystics throughout the ages have wholeheartedly recommended solitary walks in nature.  It doesn’t matter what the technique is as long as it encourages and supports you in slowing down, pausing; paying attention and contemplating.

Try it for yourself for a few weeks then let me know what you think and what you’ve experienced. I’m eager to know!

Please pass this post along to a friend. Thanks!

Your Friend and Pep Pal,

Lauren

Leave a Reply

