Wisdom from the Farm: Green Beans

Copyright 2016 Artisans Workshop Designs
Copyright 2016 Artisans Workshop Designs

 

I’m a member of a CSA Farm and each week I stop by to pick up my share of that week’s harvest. The harvest also includes a pick-your-own portion and this week’s was beans: our choice of green beans, Roma, waxed, or Haricot Verts.

Overnight, we’d gotten a rainstorm and the bean patch showed the effects of the rain. Some of the bushes had been pushed down and the beans, although still on the bushes, were lying on the ground.

At first, I thought there would be “slim pickin’s” because I assumed that the beans would have been either “beaten up” by the rain or, since they were on the ground, have been nibbled by insects and critters. When I lifted the bushes and looked closer at the beans, I was surprised to see that they were just fine. Of course they were muddy, but that could easily be washed off and all the vitamins and other nutrients in the beans would still be fully available.

This got me to thinking….

The same is true for us when the rainstorms show up in our lives. We may be pushed down and we may get muddy and dirty, but overall we’re still fine.

Copyright 2015 Artisans Workshop Designs
Copyright 2015 Artisans Workshop Designs

And, instead of hanging onto the dirt and mud from the rainstorm (instead of clinging to the disappointments and frustrations), we can wash ourselves off (we can let it go and turn our backs on it) and we can take advantage of the gifts that there waiting for us (the vitamins and other nutrients).

How cool is that?!

I hope this insight helps you as it’s helped me. Let me know!

Your Friend and Pep Pal,

Lauren

One thought on “Wisdom from the Farm: Green Beans”

Leave a Reply

