Decisions: One of My Best Decisions

https://pixabay.com/en/spiral-words-thoughts-mindfulness-544400/
https://pixabay.com/en/spiral-words-thoughts-mindfulness-544400/

 

My new practice of stillness and silence first thing in the morning is one of the best decisions I’ve made recently. I highly recommend it.

I’ve been doing this morning practice for about six weeks and I find that my overall attitude and approach to life is changing for the better.

Before when confronted with a challenging situation, my default reaction would be some variation of “…this is way too hard…I can’t…” I would have assumed that huge, painful effort would be required so I’d procrastinate. I would have to psyche myself up to deal with it.

Now when an obstacle looms ahead, I notice that even though I still hesitate or get that knot in my stomach, I’m more apt to pause a moment and then say “Okay. Let’s break this down. Let me start with the easy part. I can gently pick my way through this problem and find the solution.” I am more confident that the issue has a solution and that it’s within the scope of my powers to find it.

https://pixabay.com/en/the-mother-of-grandma-woman-478319/
https://pixabay.com/en/the-mother-of-grandma-woman-478319/

So, even though I’m not getting earth-shattering revelations and winning lottery numbers aren’t appearing in my dreams, regularly sitting in stillness and silence is helping me. I find that I’m more hopeful and optimistic which gives me confidence in taking action toward my goals and dreams.

Do you have a morning ritual that’s helping you–that has been the best decision you’ve made? Please feel free to share it in the comments below. Thanks!

Your Friend and Pep Pal,

Lauren

Leave a Reply

