Self-Actualization: What it Isn’t

http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Serene_Canyon.JPG
http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Serene_Canyon.JPG

 

A few thoughts on what self-actualization isn’t:

 

It isn’t a race to the “top of the ladder”

Even though Maslow’s Hierarchy of Need is depicted as a pyramid, that’s just a rough way of characterizing esoteric concepts. There is no real “top” to get to.  It’s all about being more of who you Truly Are.

 

It isn’t about getting more money, more power, more prestige

Although these things may come to people who are fully committed to self-actualization, they aren’t at all what these people strive for.

 

It isn’t becoming better than anyone else; it isn’t about narcissism or self-aggrandizement

It’s about being who you were born to be and doing what you were born to do.

 

It isn’t about finally getting to Easy Street

It can be a difficult journey because self actualization is about giving up ego and looking yourself in the eye and accepting yourself as you are in each moment; it’s about forgiving and letting it all go.

 

It isn’t about any religion or philosophy

Although, self-actualization is deeply profound and sacred.

 

What are your thoughts about self-actualization or Maslow’s Hierarchy of Need, or the Chakras. Let me know in the comments below.  Thanks!

Your Friend and Pep Pal,

Lauren

2 thoughts on “Self-Actualization: What it Isn’t”

  1. I find it’s a spiral journey for me. I’ll get a clear understanding on some aspects of being and then the following week fall back into an old recurring pattern–another chance to gain clarity and break free!

    Like

  2. Hi Julie!
    Thank you for your comment.
    I agree with you; I have the same experience.
    Even though it may seem that we’re falling back into an old habit, I’ve found that it’s an opportunity to gain a deeper understanding of myself through a different aspect of the habit. That isn’t to say that I greet the fall-back with joy and enthusiasm! I give myself a moment to process the discouragement, etc. and then I look for the usefulness of the situation, not only to help myself but also thinking about how my experience might be able to help others. I may not immediately see the benefit but eventually I will.
    Is this similar to your experience?
    The important thing is to keep moving forward, even if it’s with teensy tiny baby steps!
    You can do it!
    Your Friend and Pep Pal,
    Lauren

    Like

Leave a Reply

