Quotes About Gratefulness

http://www.publicdomainpictures.net/view-image.php?image=26005&picture=baby-with-play-balls
http://www.publicdomainpictures.net/view-image.php?image=26005&picture=baby-with-play-balls

 

Be thankful for your allotment in an imperfect world.  Though better circumstances can be imagined, far worse are nearer misses than you probably care to realize. ― Richelle E. Goodrich

 

I like this quote because it reminds me that Life is no respecter of persons and can be quite capricious at times. It reminds me to be humble and grateful because I don’t always know when Grace and plain old dumb luck have prevented a worse situation from crashing down upon me.

 

 

There is no such thing in the world as a “self-made man” or a “self-made woman”. We’ve received so much from so many for so long that we can’t even keep count. But, simply because we can’t keep count, doesn’t mean we discount. ― Sharad Vivek Sagar

 

This is another quote that reminds me to be humble and grateful to the people I know who have helped me–and still may be helping me–but also to send out thanks to those I’ll never know how they’ve helped me. Just as I don’t always know when Grace has saved me from a terrible situation, I don’t always know from whom I’ve received a helping hand.  Sometimes people’s help is so subtle, I may not make the connection.  For instance, it could be an acknowledgement in passing from a stranger–a smile or the person ahead of me holding a door open for me–that lifts my mood enough that I’m able to feel the nudge from my Inner Guidance that then puts me on the path of my Next Best Thing.

 

 

She taught me that life goes on, and that I had a choice: To lament what I no longer had or be grateful for what remained. ― Louise Penny

 

Maybe the secret to life is embodied in this quote. Perhaps the purpose of life is not whether or not we acquiring things real or ethereal, or transcending the world.  Perhaps the purpose is to see how often we can turn our backs on loss and the negative and firmly turn our faces toward gratefulness of what remains and for what lies ahead.

 

Do one of these quotes strike a chord with you? Do you have another that resonates deeply with you?  Please share your thoughts in the comments below.  Thanks!

Your Friend and Pep Pal,

Lauren

Leave a Reply

