Life Happens

https://pixabay.com/en/race-aircraft-sky-clouds-92193/
https://pixabay.com/en/race-aircraft-sky-clouds-92193/

 

 

I was going through my email yesterday and came across this message from Les Brown, a well-known motivational speaker. The email was about a new book he’s written and what struck me was the following:

 

 

“… The reality is that – LIFE HAPPENS.  

You name it and things happen! Listen, no matter what happens – you WILL have obstacles. You WILL have hard days and many times life WILL knock you down…

But, remember one thing… the floor is no place for a winner.

Get up. Right now. Do it.

If you have to…get up and just crawl.

Cry, scream or shout.

But, get up!

Lying down & GIVING UP will NEVER change a single thing. Talking about how close you were will not bring it about. Complaining will not put any money in the bank.

Just stand up, shake it off, throw away the negativity and get your head right!

We all get the wind knocked out of us from time to time by Life. Do not let it get the best of you! You are stronger than you think you are. You have the right stuff DO NOT take it personally. It is called Life. Get up, get busy…..” ~Les Brown

 

 

I can attest to this myself that Life just plain old happens. For instance, the end of the month is in sight and you might be like I me thinking that you made it through relatively unscathed financially…only to have the heating unit in your home blow a main component just as wet, raw, and bitter weather moves in sending temperatures plummeting.

Oy.

When Life wallops you, Les is right about the fact that you can’t give up or give in or throw in the towel or quit. As he says, it’s okay to scream, shout, cry, and curse if you have to; you may even have to take a step back and catch your breath, but don’t knuckle under.

You may not have the energy, wherewithal, and mental stamina to take care of everything all at once. But you can do something, even if it’s only a little tidbit of something. Ask yourself what can you do right here and right now about this–can you make a phone call or send an email?

What helps me is to think of the small things I can do, the easy pieces I can handle. Doing those things gets the momentum going and then I can usually tackle the bigger and harder things that can’t necessarily be broken down into smaller steps.

And, if my mind wants to race ahead to the worst case scenario, I gently pull it back and remind it that I am taking helpful steps and I won’t know what’s down the road until these steps finish playing out. Once they do, then I’ll see what’s what at that point, and then take more steps.

http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:US_Army_52377_Akbar_sets_women%27s_Ten-Miler_record.jpg
http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:US_Army_52377_Akbar_sets_women%27s_Ten-Miler_record.jpg

Also, I accept the fact that going through a rough patch oftentimes has periods where it isn’t pretty. I may not go through them with agility and panache but as long as I make it through, I figure that’s all that matters!

So if Life has happened to you, keep going no matter what!

You can do it, I’m sure of it!

Your Friend and Pep Pal,

Lauren

Leave a Reply

