Baby Steps: The Cure for Worry and Procrastination

http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:First_step_to_success_know_yourself_and_be_stable_2014-02-20_00-50.jpeg
http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:First_step_to_success_know_yourself_and_be_stable_2014-02-20_00-50.jpeg

 

Perhaps you’re like me and are becoming a little worried about the changes you hoped to make in some areas of your life.  The first week of the New Year has gone by and in some areas, I haven’t started making changes yet.  Not even little ones.

Uh oh.  Part of me is a little worried that this may mean I’m doomed. 

That’s when my fretting starts to make the project or change seem bigger and harder than it is.  Then I start to procrastinate because it all seems too big and too much.

But then I remember about baby steps.  I remind myself that I don’t have to work on a project all day and that I don’t have to start with the hardest part of it.   I remind myself that all I have to do is to make a start by working on the project for 5 minutes.  Then I look for the easiest thing to do such as clearing a space to work or gathering the materials I’ll need. and then I do it.

And I keep my promise to myself that this is all I have to do right now, whether it’s working for 5 minutes or completing a small, specific task.

Making a little start like this gives me a toehold into the project so I’m not so intimidated the next time I’m scheduled to work on it.

Also, I’ve found that thinking in terms of what I can do in 5 minutes or finding an easy piece of the project is a great way to keep going.

Ask yourself what easy, 5-minute piece of this project can I do today?  Then do that thing!

I know you can do it!

Your Friend and Pep Pal,

Lauren

One thought on “Baby Steps: The Cure for Worry and Procrastination”

  1. Thanks for this reminder! I know the system works, and I’m using it right now to prepare a new workshop that I will be giving next week. Doing a little bit each day so that I’ll be ready. Not so overwhelming that way!

    Like

Leave a Reply

