How to be Truly Free!

http://www.public-domain-image.com
http://www.public-domain-image.com

 

Sometimes I have trouble falling asleep—or I’ll wake in the middle of the night and not be able to get back to sleep. In each instance, my mind is racing and there’s a tight, fist-sized knot in my stomach.

Has this ever happened to you?

I came across this short article by Byron Katie where she talks about the four questions that are at the core of The Work, her method of self-inquiry.

The four questions are:

  1. Is it true?
  2. Can you absolutely know that it’s true?
  3. How do you react, what happens, when you believe that thought?
  4. Who would you be without that thought?

 

In the article, she gives examples of how to use these questions. They’re simple questions, but the results can be profound. The point of these questions is to help you pinpoint the essentials of what’s bothering you—the core or essence of the thought and emotion, which is what you believe about it. Not what it is in fact, but rather the subjectivity of your belief.

Once you “get it” that it’s your belief about things, situations, events, and people—not the people, events, situations, and things themselves, but rather your perception and your belief that’s causing you pain and suffering, then you can stop. You can regain your equilibrium and your inner peace.

The good news about this is that it means you aren’t dependent upon any person, any place, any thing, any circumstance in order to be happy and fulfilled.  

No one and no thing can steal your joy or rain on your parade because it’s 100% your choice.

This realization is a relief to me because then it means I am not subject to things beyond my control. I no longer have to be buffeted by others’ moods and the general imperfections of Life.

Yippee!

Is this realization a relief to you, too? What do you think of the Byron Katie article? Let me know in the comments below. Thanks!

Please pass this post along to a friend. Thanks!

Your Friend and Pep Pal,

Lauren

2 thoughts on “How to be Truly Free!”

  1. I have used this process in the past but not for a while. Just did it and I’m feeling relief over something that’s been bothering me. Thanks so much for reminding me of this powerful tool!

    Like

  2. Thanks for your comment, Julie!
    I agree that this technique looks very simple on the surface–so simple that it might lead you to doubt its effectiveness. But it’s precisely that simplicity that makes this such a powerful tool. I’m glad you found it helpful!
    Your Friend and Pep Pal,
    Lauren

    Like

Leave a Reply

