The Has-Beens – A Poem

http://www.publicdomainpictures.net/view-image.php?image=65298&picture=walk-in-the-fog

 

Here’s a poem that reminds us it’s never too late to be victorious. We’re never too far gone that we can’t make different choices and turn ourselves around.

I read the papers every day,

and oft encounter tales

which show there’s hope for every jay

who in life’s battle fails.

I’ve just been reading of a gent

who joined the has-been ranks,

at fifty years without a cent,

or credit at the banks.

But undismayed he buckled down,

refusing to be beat,

and captured fortune and renown;

he’s now on Easy Street.

Men say that fellows down and out

ne’er leave the rocky track,

but facts will show, beyond a doubt,

that has-beens do come back.

I know, for I who write this rhyme,

when forty-odd years old,

was down and out, without a dime,

my whiskers full of mold.

By black disaster I was trounced

until it jarred my spine;

I was a failure so pronounced

I didn’t need a sign.

And after I had soaked my coat,

I said (at forty-three),

“I’ll see if I can catch the goat

that has escaped from me.”

I labored hard; I strained my dome,

to do my daily grind,

until in triumph I came home,

my billy-goat behind.

And any man who still has health

may with the winners stack,

and have a chance at fame and wealth—

for has-beens do come back.

~Walt Mason.

 

Your Friend and Pep Pal,

Lauren

 

Leave a Reply

