Goals and Grit: One More Week

http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:The_River_Witham_-_geograph.org.uk_-_255275.jpg
http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:The_River_Witham_-_geograph.org.uk_-_255275.jpg

 

 

 

There’s one more week left in the first half of 2016. Let’s spend it giving our goals the final review and then tweaking them as needed to set ourselves up for a fantastic second half of 2016.

On July 1st, let’s hit the ground running!

As a result of all the talking we’ve done about goals and grit, I’ve devised a new way for myself to set goals. I’ve decided to keep the system as simple as possible because it isn’t about the system, it’s about getting clear on what goals I’m going for.

There are two aspects of my life: personal/private and professional/public. There are three categories that, to me, are the foundation of living a good life: finances, relationships, and fitness.

Here’s what my grid looks like:

Finances

Relationships

Fitness

Personal/Private

Professional/Public

Next, I fill it out with questions or things I want to keep in mind.

For instance, the Fitness column and the Personal/Private row, I’ll put the items of exercise, nutrition, positive attitude, and meditation. Under the same column in the Professional/Public row, I’ll put up-to-date with current business trends, provide value in my job and to my company, work efficiently and effectively.

Under the Relationships column and in the Personal/Private row I’ll put things like family, friends, clubs, hobbies, spirituality. Under the same column in the Professional/Public row I’ll put professional friends, mentors, associations, conventions.

In the Finances column, under Personal/Private, I’ll have items such as spending wisely, tithing, saving, and personal growth & development. In the same column and in the Professional/Public row I’ll put things such as professional growth and development.

So, here’s my completed grid:

Fitness

Relationships

Finances

Personal/Private

exercise, nutrition, positive attitude, and meditation

family, friends, clubs, hobbies, spirituality

spending wisely, tithing, saving, and personal growth & development

Professional/Public

up-to-date with current business trends, provide value in my job and to my company, work efficiently and effectively

professional friends, mentors, associations, conventions

professional growth and development

As you can see, some items can go under one or more of the categories. It’s easy to get yourself all tied up in a knot over which item goes where–finding the perfect spot for each item.

http://www.publicdomainpictures.net/view-image.php?image=15163&picture=happy-young-woman
http://www.publicdomainpictures.net/view-image.php?image=15163&picture=happy-young-woman

As I said, it isn’t about the categories. It’s about clarifying the things that are important to YOU. Not the things that are important to your neighbor or your family and friends or the things that advertisers tell you should be important to you. It’s what YOU need to have, be, and do in order to live a life that YOU think is worthwhile.

Feel free to use my new system for your own goal setting. I’ll keep you informed as to how it’s working out for me.

Have you devised your own goal-setting system? If so, feel free to share it in the comments below.

Please share this post with your friends. Thanks!

Your Friend and Pep Pal,

Lauren

Leave a Reply

